African Diaspora as AU 6th Region



The African Union states that the Continent is comprised of 5 Regions: North, South, East, West and Central Africa. There are 1.7 billion Africans on the Continent and 400 million African Diaspora scattered all over the globe.  In 2002, the Executive Council of the African Union defined the 6th Region of Africa as “All People of African Descent Living Outside Africa” The remaining and final step is ratification by the African Heads of State.

The issue has not been stalled as until now, there has not been a global entity that met the criteria defined by the African Union. The umbrella entity must be representative of African American, African Caribbean, African Latino, African European and all Africans born on the Continent but living outside Africa.  The ADDI, under the leadership of H.E. Ambassador Arikana Chihombori Quao was created to accomplish the task (“The Movement”) of unifying and registering 1 million of the 400 million African Diaspora throughout the globe. With a million African Diaspora registered, the ADDI meets the requirements as established by the African Heads of State for 6th Region formal approval.  The incorporation of the African Diaspora as the 6th Region into the African Union opens up the pathway to African citizenship for all African Diasporas everywhere on the globe.